HISTORY

Since its founding in Landshut, Germany in 1884, the Willis piano company has won three gold medals in German manufacturing, laying the foundation for Willis Piano's 100-year-old piano in Germany. The founder of the company, Alexander Parker Willis, respects the idea of “Let everyone have a high quality piano”. Today, not forgetting the original heart, it is considered to be one of the most successful high-end piano brands. While inheriting the centuries-old hand-made piano craft, it cites the international advanced modern manufacturing technology to increase the production capacity while the piano craft is more precise. Let more people play, hear, and touch the Willis piano, and feel the perfect combination of acoustic quality and playing performance.





Alexander Parker Willis

“Let everyone have a high quality piano”

1884

Founder Alexander Parker Willis founded Willis in Landshut, Germany. Through the exchanges with famous musicians and music directors of music theatres to fully understand their needs, the first batch of Konzert (concert) pianos was developed in 1884, which has won the love of many musicians with its excellent sound. Once the products were promoted to the market, the sales volume increased sharply. Many customers from other countries also came here. Alexander Parker Willis's mission of “letting everyone have the best piano” came to life and began to actively plan to expand overseas markets. In the same year, the Canadian sales company Willis&co was established. In 1900, most of the shares of the Lesage & Fils piano factory were acquired.




Wilis factory in Germany

1884 Landshut factory in Germany

1910

In 1910, Willis' peak production reached 3,000 units, and in September the same year, a second piano factory was established.




The second factory in Willis, Germany

In 1910, Willis' peak production reached 3,000 units, and the second factory was established in September of the same year.

1911

As the business grew, Wilhelm Willis began to take over the company and became the second generation manager of the German WILLIS company. Since then, he has cooperated with many musicians. In 1911, the famous German composer and conductor Richard Sturt Rolls used the WILLIS piano as the conductor of the music group of the Bavarian National Opera in Munich.




WILLIS Piano Large Retail Center

In 1912, WILLIS Piano built a new large retail center with a piano showroom, office and concert hall.

1912

In 1912, WILLIS Piano built a new large retail center with a piano showroom, office and concert hall. Invited to the world's top artist Richard Strauss, Wilhelm Backhaus, to the concert hall to perform concerts with the latest WILLIS piano. Wilhelm Backhaus praised "The voice of the WILLIS piano is what I dreamed of, and the piano should only be written for it."




WILLIS piano sales exceeded 10,000 units

1913

In 1913, it broke through 10,000 units and its annual output reached 4,000 units, making it the first important milestone for Willis.




Bavarian Opera House designated piano

In 1933, the Willis piano became the designated piano for the Bavarian State Opera in Munich, Germany.

1933

The WILLIS piano won the gold medal in German manufacturing and officially became the designated piano for the Bavarian State Opera in Munich, Germany. It has also become the European royal piano. As the former old palace opera house, the opera group participated in the world premiere of many famous operas. In the history, Mozart, Strauss, Wagner and other famous musicians have stopped in Munich.




Won three gold medals in German manufacturing

Willis Piano was awarded the "German Piano Manufacturing Gold Award" in 1933, 1953, and 1966 in Bavaria, Germany.

1939

Mr. William Willis took office as the third manager. At this time, the WILLIS piano has become a popular German piano, and is world-renowned. The continuous increase in production orders allowed him to decide to add a Willis piano production line, invest heavily in technology research and development, design and develop an independent back column design, and strike the string system to upgrade the sound quality again.





In 1939, WILLIS Piano, the first piano company and the International Wildlife Conservation Society (WCS), called for the protection of endangered species. Co-designed to create a Pianorignal nine-foot concert playing piano. With excellent quality and exquisite craftsmanship, in 1953, the WILLIS piano was once again awarded the German Manufacturing Gold Award, which established the leading position of the German piano industry.







Pianorignal

In 1939, WILLIS Piano, the first piano company and the International Wildlife Conservation Society (WCS), called for the protection of endangered species. Co-designed to create a Pianorignal nine-foot concert playing piano.

1966

The fourth generation of Kristen Willis took office. In 1966, the Willis piano won the gold medal in German manufacturing again. Winning the German Made Gold Award three times in a row, it is amazement of the traditional German handcrafted craftsmanship of Willis Piano. A retailer of Willis & Co. in Canada was sold by the Willis family in 1967 The global branch was merged with the Landshut Willis company in German. At the headquarters, introducing new technologies and materials made by modern pianos, Kristen Willis attaches great importance to design. In 1975, he hired the top Bavarian designer Willibald Zeilhofer who won several German design gold awards to design the "Future" series of grand piano products. Europe has caused a huge sensation. Many artists say, "This is not only a beautiful piano, but also a work of art, it's wonderful."With the future series, we will enter the international grand piano level. The great art of piano making once again set sail. Today in the 21st century, Willis Piano is still the most acclaimed German piano.







Future series piano

In 1975, the leading designer of Bavaria, Willibald Zeilhofer, designed the "Future" series of grand piano products.

四代传承 , 百年沉淀

WILLIS(威利斯)钢琴公司自 1884 年在德国兰茨胡特(Landshut)成立以来,荣获三次德国制造金奖,奠定了威利斯钢琴德国百年手工钢琴的地位。公司创始人Alexander Parker Willis所尊奉的“让每一个人拥有一台高品质的钢琴”这一宗旨。时至今日,不忘初心,被认为是最成功的高档钢琴品牌之一,在传承百年手工制琴工艺的同时,引用国际先进的现代化制造工艺,在钢琴工艺更加精准的同时,大幅提高产能,让更多的人弹奏上、聆听到、触摸到 WILLIS 钢琴,感受声学品质和弹奏性能的完美结合。





Alexander Parker Willis

“让每一个人拥有一台高品质的钢琴”

1884

创始人Alexander Parker Willis在德国兰茨胡特(Landshut)创立 WILLIS 公司。通过与著名音乐家和音乐剧院的音乐总监交流,充分了解他们的需求,1884年研制出了第一批Konzert(音乐会)系列钢琴,凭借出色的音色,赢得了众多音乐家的喜爱。产品一经推广到市场,销量急剧增长,很多其他国家的客户也慕名而来,Alexander Parker Willis“让每一个人拥有一台最好的钢琴”的使命感油然而生,开始积极筹划拓展海外市场,同年成立加拿大销售公司 Willis&co, 1900年收购了Lesage&Fils钢琴厂的大部分股份。




德国威利斯工厂

1884年德国兰茨胡特(Landshut) 工厂

1910

1910年威利斯公司峰值产量达到 3000台, 同年 9月建立第二个钢琴工厂。




德国威利斯第二个工厂

1910年威利斯公司峰值产量达到3000台,同年 9月建立第二个工厂

1911

随着业务的不断增长, Wilhelm Willis 开始正式接管公司, 成为德国 WILLIS 公司第二代管理者, 自上任后开始与众多音乐家合作, 1911年德国著名的作曲家及指挥家理查德 · 施特劳斯担任慕尼黑巴伐尼亚国家歌剧院音乐团体的指挥时使用 WILLIS 钢琴。




WILLIS钢琴大型零售中心

1912年, WILLIS 钢琴新建大型零售中心, 包含钢琴展厅, 办公室和音乐厅。

1912

1912年, WILLIS 钢琴新建大型零售中心, 包含钢琴展厅, 办公室和音乐厅。邀请到世界顶尖的艺术家 Richard Strauss(理查德 · 施特劳斯) Wilhelm Backhaus(威廉 · 巴克豪斯)来到音乐厅, 采用最新的 WILLIS 钢琴举行音乐会。Wilhelm Backhaus(威廉 · 巴克豪斯)称赞道“ WILLIS 钢琴的声音是我梦寐以求的, 钢琴曲只应为它而写”。




WILLIS钢琴销量突破10000台

1913

WILLIS 钢琴销售量突破 10000台大关, 年产量达到 4000台, 成为 WILLIS 公司的第一个重要里程碑。




巴伐利亚歌剧院指定用琴

1933年,WILLIS 钢琴成为德国慕尼黑巴伐利亚国家歌剧院的指定用琴

1933

WILLIS钢琴获得德国制造金奖并正式成为德国慕尼黑巴伐利亚国家歌剧院的指定用琴。也成为了欧洲皇室用琴, 作为曾经的老皇宫歌剧院, 因此歌剧院团参与不少著名歌剧的全球首演, 历史上莫扎特, 施特劳斯, 瓦格纳等著名音乐家都曾在慕尼黑驻足。




荣获三次德国制造金奖

威利斯钢琴分别于1933年、1953年、1966年在德国巴伐利亚被授予“德国钢琴制造金奖”。

1939

William Willis 先生作为第三任管理者上任。此时的 WILLIS 钢琴已经成为畅销的德国钢琴, 享誉世界。持续增加的生产订单, 让他决定新增威利斯钢琴生产线, 在技术研发领域投入重金进行升级, 设计研发独立的背柱设计, 击弦系统, 将声音品质再次升级。





1939年 WILLIS 钢琴作为首家钢琴公司与国际野生生物保护学会(WCS)共同呼吁保护濒临物种。共同设计打造 Pianorignal(驼鹿钢琴)九尺音乐会演奏用琴。凭借优秀的品质和精湛的工艺, 1953年 WILLIS 钢琴再次获得德国制造金奖, 确定了德国钢琴行业的领导地位。







Pianorignal(驼鹿钢琴)

1939年 WILLIS 钢琴作为首家钢琴公司与国际野生生物保护学会(WCS)共同呼吁保护濒临物种。共同设计打造 Pianorignal(驼鹿钢琴)九尺音乐会演奏用琴。

1966

Kristen Willis 第四代管理者上任伊始。1966年, WILLIS 钢琴又一次获得德国制造金奖这一殊荣。连续三次获得德国制造金奖, 让人惊叹威利斯钢琴的德国传统手工制造的精湛技艺, 威利斯家族于1967年将全球分公司合并于德国兰茨胡特威利斯公司总部, 引进现代钢琴制造的新技术和新材料。





Kristen Willis 十分重视设计, 1975聘请到多次荣获德国设计金奖的巴伐利亚顶级设计师 Willibald Zeilhofer 设计“未来”系列三角钢琴产品, 一经推出在当时的欧洲引起了巨大轰动, 很多艺术家说“这不仅是架音色优美的钢琴, 更是一件艺术品, 太美妙了”。凭借未来系列进军国际三角钢琴等级。伟大的钢琴制造艺术再次扬帆起航。在21世纪的今天, 威利斯钢琴仍然是最受称誉的德国钢琴。







未来系列钢琴

1975年,巴伐利亚顶级设计师 Willibald Zeilhofer, 设计“未来”系列三角钢琴。